The Whole Story and a Letter to A

So the last time I posted here, you had the beginning of our Little A story, and I’m here again to tell you the middle and the end already.

After sleeping 2 1/2 hours the night we got in from New Orleans, A woke up crying, saying she missed her mom. So I read a couple of books to her and asked her questions about her stuffed bear, trying to distract her from being scared and sad in a new place. Our day started very early and it was full from that moment on. We played play-do and dolls, we colored and went to the park, we stopped by Target to pick up a few things and we went out to lunch. While we were at the park, the case manager gave us a call and said A’s dad was coming in from out of town to get her and our job was done.

Less than 24 hours after we got the first call to bring her in, she was already out of our care. We were not expecting that, to say the least. I did tell my mom, as we were driving back to TN from LA that my gut feeling was that A wouldn’t be staying with us for very long, but I definitely didn’t expect it to only be 18 hours.

A few people have asked how I’m feeling about the whole thing, and to be very honest, I’m not really feeling much about it. I was SO excited to get the first call and I basically didn’t shut up about it the entire 8 hour drive back to Nashville (sorry mom!). But I think God did a big thing for me by arranging things how He did. I was so extremely exhausted by the emotional roller-coaster of vacation, call, excitement, no sleep, foster-mama, releasing A that I didn’t really have time to FEEL much of anything. We had a good day with her. She was fun and kind and very smart. We enjoyed ourselves and then she went on to live somewhere else. That’s sort of the whole thing.

Talking to the case-worker when we dropped A back off, she mentioned that a lot of placements will be similar to this, that we will be a place for them to stay for a small period of time while family members are being contacted or coming in from out of town, and then they’ll be off. Seems like maybe they would have mentioned that to us earlier, but I’m glad we were able to be here for the time we were needed. letter to A

3 thoughts on “The Whole Story and a Letter to A

  1. i look forward to your stories. both the long and the short. you are going to be such a wonderful safe place for so many little ones and that is so special, even if its just a few hours.

  2. So… is there any way to give a copy of this letter to A? Because I think this kind of positive, insightful little letter might be very meaningful to anyone at anytime.

Leave a Reply

