The Bosom of Christ

We started a new journal in our youth group at church this week that reads through the Bible in a year. Tonight as I set my Bible and journal out to start tonight’s reading (Ephesians 4), I was thinking about a lot of big-deal things. More specifically, I was thinking about foster care (duh) because tomorrow morning our classes begin!, and also about some personal things I’ve been dealing with lately (hey look! I found an area of my life I don’t want to blog about! Miracle!). (Let’s not talk about the ridiculous punctuation in that sentence…) And the thing I wasn’t really thinking a lot about was my Bible study. But then I opened up and the first words of Ephesians 4 are,

“I… urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love…”

Is there a better prayer for two people about to take off in a terrifying new direction that they’ve been called? I’ve only felt “called” to a couple things in my life as strongly as I feel called to foster care. It’s going to be hard- quite possibly the hardest thing I will ever do. I’m aware of that, but I am not afraid (another miracle, as I am afraid of most everything).

The rest of Ephesians 4 talks about the body of Christ. If you’re not familiar with this term, it’s the idea that all people who are believers in God’s truth are a part of one body. Each piece has a specific role, and we need to work together to function well. One of my all time favorite things my friend Lillian has ever said was when she called me “the bosom of Christ.” Though it was half in jest, it felt like such truth being spoken into my life. That’s my calling. From a small child to me now, it just made sense of me in a world that doesn’t usually allow me to feel like I make sense. Does that make sense?

Know what else is in that passage? Truth about loving each other where we are – giving grace and speaking kind words that build each other up. It’s exactly what I needed tonight like you wouldn’t even believe. I have dubbed this Emotion Week 2012 (if you read my last blog update, you’ll see a fraction of this week’s emotions) and Emotion Week has worn down my heart in ways I am not proud of.

So basically Ephesians 4 is my very favorite thing right now. I read it 4 times through and each time found a new truth that I needed to hear tonight. And I’m going to read it again before I go to sleep because it’s just that good.

I’m so thankful for a God who cares about the details of my life enough to speak his word into me. And I’m thankful for friends I can text at 11:30 and basically say, “sorry I am a butt” to and will love me through it. And I’m so thankful for the excitement of tomorrow and the possibilities ahead of the Hagens. Going to bed renewed, thankful, excited as ever, and enlightened by the truth.

One thought on “The Bosom of Christ

  1. That God! He’s something else, isn’t He?!
    On another note, have you ever taken the Strengths assessment? Because it is another way to understand and value what you bring into the world, and you might like it. There are several books with the assessment as part of them. StrengthsFinder is the cheapest, StrengthsQuest is what I teach with. They all use the same test though.

Leave a Reply

