Grace

I’m not a political person. I don’t like to get into debates. I don’t like to see or hear other people debating either. I have strong convictions about some things and I have absolutely no opinion about others. I think that’s the way it is for most people.

I was brought up in a house where grace was taught, practiced, explained, and witnessed countless times. I have parents who are faithful to their beliefs in Jesus and what the Bible says about grace, and because of that, I care about grace. It’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot. I think there’s an epidemic of people who have forgotten forgiveness, gentleness, and grace. Grace to the church when we see that is has failed, grace to the non-believers when we see that they are hurting and lost, grace to Republicans and grace to Democrats.

The internet has been ablaze with attack lately. People have chosen a side – for whatever the current argument may be – and they’ll defend that side with all they have. I believe that opinions are important and we have a right to feel strongly about things. But I’ve seen rifts developing where healing should abide. Being eloquent and passionate is great, but using it to hurt other people who are trying, like we all are, to do what is right is… well… hurtful. The last thing we need in this world is more hurt. It is hard enough here as it is.

Pro-gun, anti-gun. Organic food, fast food. Christian, atheist. Home school, public school. Chick-fil-a, anti Chick-fil-a. Whatever it is – we are all finite and full of good intentions, brothers and sisters who need grace. Can we try to give grace to those who disagree with us? May we be people of great love and understanding before we are people of internet debates.

3 thoughts on “Grace

Leave a Reply

