Saturday and Sunday – Haiti 2012

We got to Port au Prince last Saturday, and made the bumpy bus ride up to Thomassin that evening. I feel such a sense of contentment when I am in Haiti, and Saturday that started to sink in as we drove past the markets and groups of people. Though I can’t speak much of their language, and we don’t have a lot in common, I really feel a sense of unity with the Haitians. More on that later this week.

When we arrived at Bethel Guest house, we immediately went down to the Cretch, the orphanage attached to the Guest House. We went up to the room with the toddler boys and settled ourselves in. It was wild and cute, as one would expect of a room full of toddler boys, and I loved being able to watch our team members meeting Haitian orphans for the first time. I scooped up as many as I could into my arms, and we just played and laughed until dinner. I have such peace in that. I could already start to feel God reaffirming my decision to become a foster parent and renew my passion for orphans.

Sunday we went to church in a small village. I’ve been to three different churches in Haiti, and every time I am blown away by their services and their passion for the Christ that Americans seem to gloss over. The location of the village church we went to was breathtaking. One of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been, by far.

Sunday after church, some of us headed back down to the Cretch and held some more babies. I love being able to head down the stairs to spread some love around to the babies. It’s my very favorite thing.

Each day this week, I’m planning to write about one day (with the exception of today and Friday, where I’ll write about two days) and show pictures to you and share about my experiences in Haiti this week. I can’t wait! I love talking about Haiti, so I hope you love hearing about it.

Leave a Reply

