Beach Optional

20120306-121452.jpg

In just a couple of days, I’m going to be heading down South with my parents to visit my grandparents at their beach condo in Gulf Shores, Alabama. I’ve never been to Alabama before. What should I expect? Chandeliers and tea parties? I hear it’s very fancy.

When I hear “beach vacation” the first thing that pops into my head is “sunburn” followed closely by “fresh crab” and the buzzkill idea of sunburn is quickly whisked away by my dreams of sweet, juicy crab. The trip is only a few days long. We’ll get there Friday and leave Monday; but you better believe I will cram as much seafood into those few days as humanly possible.

To prepare myself for my seafood-a-thon, like those guys who enter eating competitions eat whole heads of cabbage to prepare, I made some (Imitation) Crab Salad/Dip. Mix the ingredients all together until you get it the way you like it. I’m not into technicalities, but here’s a general idea of the amounts I used if you’re one of those people who “measures” things or uses “recipes”.

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/2 pack of imitation crab meat (but if you happen to be at the beach, or you make 6 figures yearly, do it up, get real crab)
  • 1 tbsp sour cream
  • juice from 1 lime
  • tsp of chopped garlic
  • 1 jalapeño diced very teeny
  • also: salt, a dash of pepper, garlic salt, and a pinch of cayenne

ImageImage

Do you know why these pictures are so horrible? It’s because I made this crab salad at midnight. That’s how serious I am about my crab.

One thought on “Beach Optional

  1. I hate seafood, but that crab salad looks good. Well done!

    Also, I went to Gulf Shores on spring break during college with about 20 other ladies. We all rented a house across the street from the beach. It was AWESOME!!! So for a first-timer, here’s what you can expect: it’s a small town with just enough. I loved Gulf Shores because of the small-town feel combined with the beach. Means you get to have all the fun you want without the headache of traffic, city life, and other tourists. They do have some neat restaurants and touristy shops, but it is definitely still a small town. It’s not overcrowded with them. I highly recommend Gulf Shores for people who want a QUIET beach vacation. 🙂 Have fun!

Leave a Reply

