Haiti > Me

I’m convinced that there will always be a piece of me devoted to Haiti. A pretty big piece, I think, and I’m thrilled about that.

I haven’t talked about my trip much at this point, and I’m not sure if that’s because I feel like “you just won’t understand” or if I won’t do it justice with the words I come up with. I think it’s probably some of both. But I’m going to try to talk it through. If nothing else, just so the pictures will make sense.

Haiti was a lot different for me last year. Last year I got to soak it all in. I sat on the sidelines and held orphans, which is not a bad place to be. But this year there were a lot of new things to experience: painting, climbing waterfalls, getting bruises and scrapes, walking through the market, leading a 10 person group, and going in not knowing anyone very well. Intimidating. So very intimidating for me.

It ended up being the biggest blessing. I made 11 new best friends that I’m still trying to convince to move in with me (I fit in shockingly well with 15 and 16 year olds), I learned that I am a champ trim painter, I can rock climb up a waterfall with no stairs or harnesses, I CAN get on a ladder without freaking out, and so much more.

I’ll try to break down the pieces of the trip into smaller posts so they make sense with pictures that are up (I have A LOT of pictures) but for now, I just wanted to give you a general idea of my trip.

Blessed beyond measure. Changed for life. Homesick for Haiti.

2 thoughts on “Haiti > Me

  1. Isn’t it wonderful how a country/people can creep into your heart? So excited for all that God is doing in and through you as you feel His heart for the nations. Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

