Saying Yes

My Haiti team has our last meeting tonight before we meet at the Nashvile airport at 3am next Wednesday. I can’t help but think about the few days before my trip last year. I had just sprained both ankles, and broken one of them as well. My foot was swollen to twice its size, and I couldn’t put the slightest amount of pressure on it. I was so clumsy learning to use crutches. I was sore. I was frustrated. I was afraid. I wanted to say, “no thanks. I think I’m good here in the US. Where the ground is flat.”

When we got to the Guest House and I realized there were 7 flights of stairs that I’d be traveling each day. I learned quickly to get used to crutches, but I wanted so much to be able to say, “no thanks. Can you just bring the kids up here to my floor? I really don’t feel like jumping down 7 flights of stairs this morning.”

By the end of the week, I was putting the littlest bit of pressure on the walking boot, while still using the crutches, and I was insanely proud of myself. I was in more pain that week than I had ever been before, but it wasn’t really an issue. At night I iced my ankle and during the day I kept it elevated as much as possible. I was fine. I was living with pain, but the rewards of being in Haiti and doing the work were so much greater than the pain.

There’s a song we used to sing at church that I never really liked, to be honest. I always thought it was a little cheezy. The words are, “I’m trading my sorrows. I’m trading my shame. I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord. I’m trading my sickness. I’m trading my pain. I’m laying them down, for the joy of the Lord.” Our translators on the team loved that song, and wanted to play it nearly every night. Each time we sang that line, it hit me in the gut. “Trading my pain for the joy of the Lord.”

The last line of the chorus is, “Yes Lord, yes Lord, yes yes Lord, Amen.”

The second day I was down at the orphanage, we asked one of our translators to teach us an easy Haitian song we could sing with the kids. The words to that song were, “Mwe di wi, wi, wi. Mwe di wi, wi, wi. Mwe di wi, Segne. Mwe di wi, Segne. Mwe’ di wi, wi, wi.” Which translates to, “I say yes, yes, yes. I say yes, yes, yes. I say yes, Savior. I say yes, Savior. I say yes, yes, yes.” So simple. But it meant so much to me that week.

So I’m praying through the pain in my belly (going to get it checked at the doctor’s today, don’t worry!), I’m feeling thankful beyond words for the support I’ve recieved so far, I’m getting excited for tonight’s meeting and the next few days of preparations, and I’m saying yes. Yes to Haiti, yes to flexibility and trust, yes to not being in control, and yes to my Savior who is sweeter than I deserve and will carry me through.

Leave a Reply

